WDS-GIJ gets new leadership

The Writers and Debaters Society at the Ghana Institute of Journalism has elected new executives to spearhead its activities for the 2019/2020 academic year.

The elections which took place on Friday, 3rd May, 2019 at the Press Centre saw the nomination of, “voting for and subsequent election of astute members of the society into the executive positions in the realms of leadership in this honorable society.”

Pictures of old and new executives from WDS

Outgoing President for the Writers and Debaters Society, Kojo Apreku Felix Asante (KAFA) has advised members to support the newly elected executives with respect, trust and constructive criticisms as a way of strengthening the effectiveness of their operations.

He said;“As outgoing President, it’s my fervent prayer that we always remember that this society was built on the foundation of mutuality and respect. Do accord your newly elected leaders the respect they deserve. Make constructive criticisms, trust one another and above all, make GIJ proud in all your endeavors.”

Meanwhile, the President-Elect for the Society, Efo Korku Mawutor has assured members of good leadership with a passionate call on everyone to support them in line of their duties.

President elect for WDS - GIJ, Efo Korku Mawutor

“#MyEfoPipos, I am eternally grateful to you all for placing the mandate of the WDS GIJ in my hands. Many thanks to my predecessors for holding the fort and and achieving this much. I believe that my hands are capable of the task and I promise that my team and I will work beyond our confines to see WDS to dreamland.”

“… All we ask of you, precious WDS members, are corporation, sacrifice, unity, discipline and the will to learn. Together, there’s nothing we can’t do. #TheTimeIsNow, #WDS-GIJ. Efo Korku Mawutor added.

Below is the new leadership for the Writers and Debaters Society (WDS):

1. President: Abiwu Theodore (Efo Korku Mawutor)

2. Vice President: Adjei Leonard (Invisible)

3. General Secretary: Dei Tutu Divine

4. Communications Director: Sally Akuffobea

5. Organising Secretary: Makafui Deborah

6. Programs Director: Abdul-Lahie Abdul-Rahim Naa Ninche

7. Financial Secretary: Audery Akakiya Adelyine

Story written by:

Nambe Patrick

Bits of information derived from WDS Release

Leave a Comment

A young, but vibrant communicator with a strong passion of impacting greatly in the lives of people through active journalism and leadership. Nambe is the Founder and CEO of Nambe Media, Radio Nambe & Nambe TV.